Warning:Your browser is out of date or running in Compatibility Mode. To view this page correctly, please disable Compatibility Mode or update your browser.

August 21-27, 2017
Glen Oaks Club, Old Westbury, New York


  • Riviera Clubhouse
  • Byron Nelson
  • Ben Hogan
  • Jack Nicklaus and Tom Watson
  • Sam Snead and Ben Hogan
  • Spencer Tracy
  • Mary Pickford
  • Ben Hogan and Jerry Lewis
  • Arnold Palmer
  • Tiger Woods


The Historic Northern Trust Open

With a corporate history dating back to 1889, Northern Trust's partnership with the tournament in the setting of The Riviera Country Club is a natural. The Northern Trust Open is ready to continue the tradition of excellence by providing exciting PGA TOUR professional golf to the fans in Southern California and throughout the world.

Check out our legendary champions dating back to 1926.

Highlights Over the Years Include:

  • 1926 The Los Angeles Junior Chamber of Commerce put up a $10,000 purse for the first LA Open - the richest prize in professional golf.
  • 1929 The LA Open became the first tournament to be broadcast on radio.
  • 1938 "Babe" Didrickson Zaharias became the first woman to play in a PGA men's event.
  • 1942 Ben Hogan won his first LA Open title.
  • 1945 Sam Snead birdied the 18th hole on the final day to defeat Byron Nelson by one stroke.
  • 1947 Ben Hogan set a course record with a score of 280.
  • 1948 Ben Hogan won both the US Open and the LA Open at The Riviera Country Club, causing many to begin calling the Club "Hogan's Alley." He set a Riviera Country Club course record of 275.
  • 1952 Joe Louis became the first African-American to compete in a PGA sanctioned event.
  • 1956 Lloyd Mangrum won the tournament for the fourth time, something only MacDonald Smith had previously accomplished.
  • 1962 Jack Nicklaus won his first professional paycheck, earning $33.33.
  • 1967 Arnold Palmer won the tournament for the third time with a four-day total of 269, just one off the record held by Phil Rogers.
  • 1969 Charlie Sifford, the first African-American member of the PGA TOUR, won the LA Open.
  • 1982 Tom Watson defeated Johnny Miller in one of the greatest comeback victories in tournament history.
  • 1992 Tiger Woods played in his first PGA TOUR event as an amateur at the age of 16.
  • 1995 Corey Pavin became only the fifth player to win back-to-back victories at the LA Open, joining MacDonald Smith, Ben Hogan, Paul Harney and Arnold Palmer.
  • 2004 Mike Weir became the sixth player to win back-to-back tournaments.
  • 2007 Charles Howell III defeated Phil Mickelson on the third playoff hole.
  • 2008 Phil Mickelson seized control from Jeff Quinney on the back nine and closed with a 1-under 70 for a two-shot victory, the 33rd of his career.
  • 2009 Phil Mickelson became the seventh player to win back-to-back tournaments, capturing the victory by one stroke over Steve Stricker.
  • 2010 By winning the tournament, Steve Stricker secured the ranking of number two in the world.
  • 2012 Bill Haas defeated Phil Mickelson and Keegan Bradley with a birdie-3 on number 10, the second playoff hole.
  • 2013 John Merrick became the first champion from Los Angeles County by defeating Charlie Beljan with a par-4 on number 10, the second playoff hole.
  • 2014 Bubba Watson’s bogey-free weekend led to a two-shot victory over Dustin Johnson.
  • 2015 James Hahn won his first PGA TOUR tournament in a three-hole playoff over Paul Casey and Dustin Johnson.

Photo Gallery

Bubba Watson on the Ninth Hole

Bubba Watson on the Ninth Hole

View The Gallery
Updates unsuccessful.
Adding your e-mail address to our list.


On the Green

Sign-up for our email Newsletter to receive the latest updates and special offers!


Thanks to our Official Partners

  • FedEx Cup
Home Navigation